IQRA College

High School Curriculum

IQRA College caters for high school students from the Year Seven level to Year Eleven in 2019.

Year 7-8

In Year 7, students start high school, which presents new organisational and personal challenges. The Australian Curriculum is taught mostly by subject-specialist teachers. At this age, there is a focus on developing students’ abilities
to maintain personal health and well-being and manage personal relationships

Year 9-10

In Years 9 and 10, learning across the curriculum prepares students for civic, social and economic participation outside of school. Students are provided with opportunities to make choices about learning and specialise in areas that interest them. At this point, students bring together their knowledge and experience to consider possible pathways for study in senior secondary school and vocational education.
Year 10 is an important year in thinking about the path the students may want to take after school, and for making sure they are in the best position to work towards their education, training and career goals. The Personal Learning Plan (PLP) is a Stage 1 subject usually studied in Year 10 that will help them plan their future and show them how they can study effectively to achieve their SACE. The PLP is the first compulsory subject of the students’ SACE. It’s a 10-credit Stage 1 subject designed to give them a good foundation for Year 11 and Year 12. They’ll need to achieve a C grade or better in the PLP to earn the 10 credits for their SACE. As part of the PLP, they’ll work with their teachers to plan their SACE. This means selecting the subjects that will help lead them to their preferred study and
employment options.

Year 11-12

The SACE is designed to allow the students to choose the subjects that suit their interests, skills and career goals. While completing the SACE, they’ll gain or extend the knowledge and skills to help them in their future study and employment.
Most students choose Stage 1 SACE subjects in Year 11 and follow with Stage 2 subjects in Year 12. When they begin Stage 1, they may have already completed their Personal Learning Plan (PLP) in Year 10. Now, they will study some compulsory and some non-compulsory subjects that will earn them more of the credits towards their SACE.
There are two compulsory Stage 1 requirements that most students complete in Year 11:
Achieving a 'C' grade or higher in at least two semesters of an English subject or subjects (giving you 20 credits in total)
Achieving a 'C' grade or higher in at least one semester of a mathematics subject (10 credits).
The equivalent of satisfactory achievement in courses from institutions, authorities, or organisations that have a primary focus on the development of literacy or numeracy skills; and English or mathematics courses from other Australian states and overseas, will also meet the SACE literacy or numeracy requirement. In addition to these compulsory requirements, they will add other, non-compulsory subjects to their study schedule.

Stage 2 (usually Year 12)

In Year 12, the students earn the remainder of the 200 credits they need to complete their SACE. They will need to achieve a C– grade or better in 60 credits of Stage 2 subjects and in 10 credits for the Research Project.

The students may find it easier to select their Stage 2 subjects, as in choosing their Stage 1 subjects they will have established the direction the wanted to take, in line with their interests and goals. In Stage 2, most students reduce the number of subjects to create a manageable schedule that provides the credits they need.
They should discuss with their teachers which subjects are best for them and allow them to follow the university or other paths they want to take after school. If they are thinking about going on to further study after Year 12, it's important to familiarise themselves with entry requirements for university and TAFE.